How do you create?

I’ve been asked this question recently – how do you create the images to draw or paint? I’ve never asked myself that before. Then I began thinking. I just do. I cannot explain the reason of how and why. Personally, I cannot. I see an image in my head. That image can be evoked by a single word I accidentally overhear from a stranger walking by talking to someone else that would spark some kind of logical reaction in my brain that will eventually lead me for the image to form. It seems like a logical threat to me as I trace back the steps but when I tried explaining this to my friend I stopped half way recognizing this does not completely make sense, but at the same time it does. This image forming, it can even be just on the spot, or I dream of it, has to go through certain stages in my head until I think, “all-right, I must do this image, or else it won’t leave me alone.” And, indeed, it does not leave me alone until I paint it exactly how I see it in my brain. I still remember a painting I wanted to do almost two years back, I remember it very clearly since I haven’t gotten around on doing it because I know this is a very good idea, personally, and I will have to get it exactly right. I release it from my mind so it can live. Roughly, that is how I know what to create.

Leave a Reply

